Seven Pounds (Gabriele Muccino) 2008

Its surprising to read all the bile coming from reviewers for this movie.  I mean, where the hell were these people when The Wild Wild West or Bad Boys 2 came out?  I’m not even saying this is a good movie but come on guys.  Seven Pounds is about Ben played by Will Smith.  For reasons shrouded in mystery, this IRS agent is going out of his way to change the lives of seven people.

As one reviewer said (although I can’t remember him at the moment) Seven Pounds is a movie built around a mystery that is all too predictable and all we are left with is the romance between Smith and Rosario Dawson.  I’m not one of those people who brag how quick they solve twist movies.  “Oooooh, I solved the Sixth Sense in the first twenty minutes and the Usual Suspects in ten.  Don’t even get me started on the Crying Game.”  It just always seemed something really stupid to be bragging about.  That’s not what I’m talking about here.  The issue is not with me being smart enough to solve the mystery early, but weak and predictable writing.  Its really confusing actually in that we get all we need to know from some early flashbacks into Ben’s life and the rest of the movie spent with the movie seemingly asking the question “Why does Ben do what he do?”  Everything is shrouded in mystery and secrecy and yet we know everything already.

So the main reason for watching the movie fails big time.  What we are left with as the other reviewer stated is Smith’s performance and the romance subplot.  Smith is intense in this role and he can be a good actor when he wants to be.  The romantic subplot is very sweet and can turn into tearjerker territory by the end. Eh, let’s just say I enjoyed it more than Hitch.  We get Woody Harrelson and Barry Pepper, but they are in for so little what’s the freaking point?  In fact, there is this big build up as to Pepper’s role in Ben’s plan and whether he will go through with his promise and how hard it is to ask a friend to do that and blah blah blah.  When it comes time and Ben calls him, I honestly don’t know what the f*ck he does to help Ben.  I was paying attention.  I really wanted to know but its like the writers dropped the ball and forgot it or the editor cut it for time or something.

I also have to call shenanigans on the movies message.  I don’t know how to really describe it without spoiling the movie (I guess if you really care you can PM) but its kind of “When life gets rough, just give up.”  I know the movie was tying to be more tender and sweet about Ben’s intentions, but I see it differently.

Seven Pounds isn’t bad.  If I had to describe my attitude after watching it, it would be indifference.  It wasn’t good, but then again I don’t see what is getting all the reviewers worked up about it. Its a rather forgettable melodrama.  The end.

Leave a Reply

